I can make a difference, but I ain’t got the $$

I have been in discussions with the City Council here in the Beautiful Suburbs of Hell about the way people “drive” around my bicycle in particular and mentioned that if I had cameras and a transmitter then GPD could make a freaking fortune just off the tickets they could write on my regular ride to church where I get at least one and sometimes two illegal passes every trip, not to mention all the drivers that run the stop sign I’m stopped at. When the guy on the cargo bike pulls up before you do you had better wait until the guy riding the cargo bike actually leaves the stop sign before you go. I mean seriously if you can’t wait the full second I spend doing a track stand on a crank-forward comfort bike before you leave you are in way too big a hurry. And way too many drivers don’t wait that long. I mean I push it on the lower bounds of what actually constitutes a “stop” at a stop sign, but these fools don’t just cross the line they do a running broad jump over it.

So what does all of that have to do with the headline? I think I have mentioned that here at WoaB World HQ “We be P’ ” as in too impoverished to afford to buy a vowel. Obtaining a single camera of high enough resolution to be used as evidence in a court of law is outside my budget. To do the job right requires at least 2 such cameras and either a high capacity SSD, or a transmitter that would allow a LEO to watch the violation from cover and use a squad or motor to catch the driver and write a ticket. To be able to write a ticket from video LEO need to be able to read the license plate from a frame grab as the act is taking place on camera. To be able to make the ticket stick there needs to be a timestamp on every frame of the video record. As most of the idiots I see endanger my life or the lives of others (the guy on the sidewalk as the car was driving on it to pass me last Saturday), they can add aggravating circumstances to make the job worthwhile from a labor costs perspective. So you can see this needs to be an expensive setup. I would need cameras front and rear with a field of view that would cover both sides of the bike because I get stupid from all sides when I ride. A helmet mount would catch the events that take place while drivers are alongside the bike (Blue is a rather long bike and covers a lot of ground for an almost-upright bike). Plus the high-capacity recorder or a high-bandwidth transmitter (3 HD quality cameras use a lot of bandwidth or storage no matter how you slice it) and a battery pack that will provide juice to all those watt-hour hogs for long enough to make a difference

The thing is to do this I have to supply the equipment myself. Yeah, that’s going to work, right? So, if any of you out there has an “in” with a video camera seller that can provide that list drop them a line and tell them they would be doing a Mitzvah sending it out to the Beautiful Suburbs of Hell. If you need an addy leave a comment with an e-mail where I can get in contact with you.

PSA, Opus

Leave a Reply

