Having an allergy attack and needing to mow the lawn, and the Feed

Yes, my little dry throat turned out to be the precursor to a full-blown allergy attack complete with a drippy faucet of a nose, post nasal drip, coughing, and a voice that continues to sound like 5 miles of dry creekbed, AKA very gravelly. The way I know this isn’t some kind of an infection is I don’t have any fever or pains that I don’t carry around 24/7 even when I’m not sick. In other words aside from the symptoms I listed I have nothing else wrong at the moment. I went on a bike ride last night and had no problems aside from not being able to breathe through my nose, but that is actually pretty normal. Most of the time I can’t get enough air when I ride if I only breathe through my nose. And my voice gets very close to normal if I drink lots of hot liquids AKA coffee.

I took some of the money for gassing up the lawn mower (see yesterday’s post) and bought a lottery ticket. Now before anyone goes on about how I threw my money away, just how many people have won the lottery without paying for a ticket? I know the odds on winning the lottery, they’re slightly better than surviving getting hit by a truck doing 60 MPH. I was hit by a truck doing 60 and I’m here composing this blog post, so I feel permitted to buy a lottery ticket when the jackpot gets up to the $1M+/year payout. At my age the 25 year payout will run out when I turn 79, assuming I live that long. If I don’t I already have the structure in place that will allow my grandson to inherit any remaining payments. He will still be young enough to enjoy the money but it won’t last so long that he becomes dependent on it.

More on the SA woman hit from behind while training for a triathlon. SA cyclists concerned after latest accident involving motor vehicle Too many comments on that site would be labeled as “terrorist” if the word “cyclist” or “biker” was replaced with an ethnic group or sexual preference.

A wreck in CA that does not have a whole lot of information attached to it. Cyclist seriously injured in Sebastopol crash At this point LEO can’t figure out how to blame the cyclist for the wreck so they aren’t saying anything. Intersection wreck, use the protocols to avoid and get the infrastructure right to prevent. And track down the ISP addys of most of the commenters and deprive them of their driver’s licenses, they are too stupid to drive on the streets and roads where other people go.

Another wreck in IN. Chinese student on bike killed in N. Indiana Red light runner, in China traffic signals are more advisory than required as long as you don’t get hit or hit anyone. Anyway intersection protocols to avoid and get the infrastructure right to prevent.

From the most deadliest state in the US to walk or ride a bike, a reason why it’s so deadly. Judge weighs pleas for fate of hit-and-run killer Only 7 years, with credit for time served… for a DUI Homicide. TANJ!

More on the wreck of an Olympian in East Canuckistan. Charge laid in cyclist crash involving former Olympian The cyclist was deliberately assaulted with a motor vehicle, in front of a witness. They better make this charge stick.

There are decent human beings in the Great White North, not that there was ever much question about that. Onlooker helps injured bike rider in North Tonawanda Intersection wreck, use the protocols to avoid and get the infrastructure right to prevent. The description sounds an awful lot like the driver that hit the cyclist was making a right on red and not looking directly in front of the vehicle when it started forward. The easiest way to fix that is to outlaw right on red, as it seems to be mainly a more efficient way of killing pedestrians and cyclists than a time or gas saver.

Assault with a motor vehicle in Oz. Charity rider injured in crash What else can you call it until they catch the driver?

Infrastructure from the GWN. Rails to Trails plans still far off, but coming around This has been underway since sometime in the 1980s, this is the last quarter of 2012 and they still don’t have a place to ride a bike yet? Glaciers move more quickly than this. About the route plans away from the railroad bridge, ““We were just talking, nothing has been laid out,” LaMonaco said.” Since the ’80s.

More infrastructure from the GWN. Streetcar tracks blamed for a third of bicycling injuries A third of cyclists in ERs said their wrecks were either caused by or made worse by streetcar tracks and there was at least one death attributed to the tracks. With this many wrecks caused by the tracks there is a fundamental flaw in the road design that is forcing cyclists into conflict with the tracks.

Another “Bike Safety” article that begins and ends with majik foam hats. Pleasanton Police Increasing Bike Helmet Enforcement Also the middle parts are about majik foam hats. The whole frakkin’ article is about majik foam hats.

LifeStyle from KS. College plans memorial bike ride for fallen student The fallen rider had a 2000 mile goal for riding this year, the ride looks to complete that total.

And those are all the links that gave me fits today.

Billed @$0.02, Opus

Leave a Reply

