Doing Mule duty again, and the Feed

I went to the store with my ruck and hauled the comestibles home on my back again. [$Deity] I will be glad to get the new cargo bike next year because hauling even $40 of groceries home a mile on the sidewalks is no longer a minor chore at my age. It’s not like it was when I was first going car-free and hauling home cases of soda and gallons of milk in addition to canned goods and frozen foods. But I was a lot younger back then, and that was 5 years before I was hit with the truck. But I made it home with all the groceries intact, so it’s all good.

Up first is a wreck in CA. Man severely injured in Collision Intersection wreck, so protocols to avoid or to mitigate damages, and get the infrastructure right to prevent. I should also reiterate at this point that I hate hit-and-run drivers with a purple passion, and think they should watch their motor vehicles shredded in a recycler, from the inside if the victim died.

From Oz a cyclist is hit in a low-information article as the LEO are sitting on the details. Cyclist injured in collision with car Intersection wreck, but other than that I have nothing on this one. Use the protocols (all of them) to avoid a wreck like this or to mitigate the damages from one, and get the infrastructure right to prevent one.

Not far from where a cyclist was shot in the face with a paintball, another cyclist is hit with an egg fired from some kind of projectile launcher. Cyclist egged from moving vehicle The vehicle description kinda sorta matches as well. My Kiwi readers should be vigilant about white vans and people movers anyway as their anonymity makes for an excellent weapons delivery vehicle.

Infrastructure! news from S.F. CA. Bicycle boom prompts bike-registration proposal and Chicago IL As City Cycling Grows, So Does Bike Tax Temptation Apparently these people have never read Santayana’s quote on people who don’t know history. Cyclists pay as much as car drivers do to fund infrastructure on the local level, actually more in S.F as drivers come from outside the city for the most part and don’t contribute much of anything to the creation of the infrastructure they overwhelm and destroy.

Infrastructure news from the UK. New cycling safety devices cannot cure bad road design

And those were all the links that gave me fits today.

Billed @€0.02, Opus

One response to “Doing Mule duty again, and the Feed

  1. My own last post was about the “slow news” that prompted the made-up bike tax story.

Leave a Reply

