Enter witty headline here, and the Feed

Just not feeling it today, what with the tornado watch and the trees bouncing around the house and the dull grey skies. I ain’t got no funny in me today. I don’t want funny today, I want a good malty dark beer with just enough hops to make it legally a beer. I spent the last month drinking IPAs and beers “inspired” by IPA, and I think I have about reached my limits on bitter hops. I’m looking for something with even less hops than a Shiner Bock, but with more flavor than a schwartzbier. I’m going to be open for suggestions over the weekend (I check the comments twice a day or more), and make my selection come Sunday. And the reason I spent so much time with IPA and similar beers is I bought a six-pack at the beginning of March and it took me most of the month to drink it, plus two singles of a different brand. I never will be an alcoholic at this rate. And that’s something I have always wondered about other poor people, if you don’t have enough to have a place to sleep or food to eat how do you have enough for beer and cigarettes? (wanders off muttering to himself)

Up first was a hard decision today, as we only had one late link to any North American wrecks. This appears to be a right hook from what little we know at this point. Bicyclist killed in Charlestown Right now nothing about this wreck is sure except that it was in an intersection and the cyclist was killed by a heavy vehicle, but it looks like the heavy vehicle was turning right when the cyclist was hit around the middle of the weapon vehicle. At this point they are not sure of the type of vehicle but are going on the assumption that the weapon vehicle was a garbage truck. Anyway, intersection wreck, maybe the protocols would avoid or reduce the amount of damages, and get the infrastructure right to prevent.

The next closest link is from Bermuda, birthplace of grass and shorts that bear the same name. Cyclist accused of pedalling while drunk Note the (lack of) damage done by the drunken cyclist compared to what happens when a drunk drives an SUV into fixed objects. If you can’t get a ride home from someone else take a bike rather than drive a car, your insurance will thank you.

The rest of the wrecks and crashes come from the Antipodes. Cyclist seriously injured Ambulance crew finds injured cyclist near a badly crumpled bike and are not sure what happened? Did they think a Kaiju (giant monster) stepped on him? It was a hit-and-run. Since I could not see the damages to the bike I can’t say how to avoid a wreck like this because I don’t know what kind of wreck this is.

Infrastructure! news from the UK with a funny picture. Council branded ‘pathetic’ as cycling numbers drop in Sevenoaks If the “bike path” the man is riding a tricycle in is any indication of the quality of the local infrastructure, people in charge need to be in prison instead.

Is this what it takes to get better bike infrastructure? Or to just get bikes banned? One injured cyclist a week At that pace they will improve on last year’s figures for injured cyclists.

More from Enn Zed. Death puts spotlight on bicycle safety

Infrastructure through the lens of a Bikeyface. IF I OWNED THE ROAD

Lots of links from Ted today. Morning Links: Not guilty pleas in OC meth hit-and-run, BFF KINDness, and fundraiser for OC’s Matt Liechty

Update on a story we got earlier in the week from Oz. Community kindness eases pain of crash cyclist’s recovery

Lifestyle from CA. Has the ‘racing culture’ sucked the fun out of bicycling? I say nope.

Last link climate change has made bikes faster than dogsleds in the world’s most severe race. Biking the Iditarod? Climate change makes for faster times

And those are all the links that gave me fits and giggles today. While I was composing the post we got to watch the first severe storm of the season roar by to the north, with heavy hail damage but thankfully no tornadoes. That’s something else that will give you fits and giggles, but not in a good way.

Billed @€0.02, Opus

Leave a Reply

