Daily Archives: June 29, 2011

A light Feed, then working on the bike

Fortunately there wasn’t much in the Feed this morning, because I need to install those tires I got yesterday and while the wheels are off Blue I need to get some work done on fenders and such. Also the front wheel needs to be trued, I’ll take care of that while I have the old tire off and before I put the new tire on.

Up first there may be justice in the MS cyclist assault case. Prosecutor to review case of injury to Miss. bicyclist, says Highway Patrol decides charges As more news about what happened comes forth the DA’s decision not to prosecute becomes less and less tenable. Despite being on the phone when she got out of the vehicle the driver never called 911, when she got back in the vehicle after seeing the cyclist on the road she drove over the cyclist’s head and left her vehicle there for about 45 seconds, then attempted to flee but was prevented by bystanders who were talking to 911 at the time. All of this was recorded on the 911 tapes and verifies the need to charge this vermin with assault with a deadly weapon and attempted murder.

They got it right in a CA courtroom. Drunk Driver Sentenced To 26 To Life For Killing Cyclist This was the guy that hit cyclists head on driving on the wrong side of the road back in 2009. The sentence means that the driver will be off the roads until at least 2037, maybe longer.

On the other side of the country an cyclist is nearly killed by a driver with marijuana in his car. [UPDATE] Cyclist Critically Injured By Pot-Possessing Jaguar Driver, No Arrests I’m seeing shades of the MS case, except this driver didn’t leave the scene of the wreck. Latest word on the victim is facial injuries and a possible skull fracture, no word on brain damage yet. LEO have not yet reviewed vide evidence to determine which vehicle was running the red light at the intersection.

Two wrecks in an Infrastructure! article from the City of Brotherly Love. Bikes, Cars Battle for Philly Street Space This is a very unequal battle between one side that is completely unarmed versus the other side equipped with WMD. For both wrecks all I can say is just be aware of your surroundings and obey traffic controls, but I really can’t help much in avoiding a door prize.

A cyclist is hit in NB Canada. Truck strikes cyclist on Woodstock Road At the time the article was posted the investigation was not complete, and because I’m in TX and the wreck was in NB I can’t read the police report to find out what happened. I can’t tell from the picture if the cyclist was fitted with some kind of head and neck restraint in preparation for transport or if he was wearing a helmet that was still on his head as they transported him, but I would say probably a neck restraint.

And that’s all I have today, now I get to buy some hardware and work on Blue.

Billed @$0.02, Opus

