Waiting in the rain on a Wreck-Free Sunday, and cargo bikes

Well we got a Sprint Cup NASCAR race a bit out west of WoaB World HQ in the Beautiful Suburbs of Hell, well we would if it ever dries up. This makes 3 rain delays in 7 races, something of a record, or working on some kind of record. I wouldn’t call this a “Good Record” though, I like to actually see a race when the race is supposed to be run. Rain delays are by definition not on time. We are now almost 2 hours late getting started on this because the track is not drying out even with the jet driers and the Titan air broom “sweeping” the water off the track. It’s so cold and humid that the track is just not drying out. So we wait.

While we wait out the rain delay have I told you the good word about the Goddess? >slap< NO RELIGION! Yes, ma’am!

I love my new cargo bike, as soon as I can get the one tiny glitch with the steering ironed out. Everything else is great except the tie rod hitting the tire on left turns, but the replacement still hasn’t come in from the supplier so that the interference problem can be fixed. I really want this bike to work well, as I will be demonstrating it as a replacement for a golf cart at the place I go camping twice a year at CMA. I really think that cargo bikes and trailers behind regular bikes can replace their aging fleet of golf carts for hauling stuff around the 101 acre campsite in southeast Texas. If the steering doesn’t work then it will look bad for the dedicated cargo bike. Obviously I want cargo bikes and trailers to look good for this.

I have been re-evaluating my choices for building my T-bucket hot rod as my budget has been drastically reduced. The engine I really want to install is the GM LS375-525 crate engine which puts out 525 HP, weighs 515 lbs., has a 2 year warranty, and costs about $9K complete. What I’m looking at is buying a used cop car and using the 4.6 Modular SOHC 2V engine and transmission, which have been selling about $1K at auction around here. This will get me the whole shooting match, engine, transmission, rear axle and brakes in one package, for less than the cost of the crate engine. The bad parts are there is no warranty, everything is going to be covered in dirt, rust, and grease, and the old suspension brackets are going to have to be cut off the rear axle before it can be used. Also the 4.6 2V is rated at 250 HP and weighs 600 pounds, less than half the power and almost 100 pounds heavier than what I had selected when I thought my budget was much larger. This will still give me a quick car with almost-decent gas mileage, as the T-bucket will still weigh less than 1800 pounds compared to the more than 4000 pound car it was pushing around before. The wheels and tires should also be usable (well I will probably have to replace the tires before putting it on the road, but if they hold air they could be used to roll the car around the shop).

Also on the T-bucket I have been looking at a fabricated aluminum frame that will slice about 100 pounds out of the completed car, but my welding skills are not close to being up for that, and neither are any of my welders capable of welding aluminum. Well, maybe the oxy-acetylene torch if I could find a set of the cobalt welding goggles that let me see when the base metal starts to puddle, but those are hard to come by even here in the Metroplex. Still the costs are similar because the sections are cheaper for the aluminum frame than the steel frame.

PSA, Opus

Leave a Reply

