How the Ride of Silence and this blog are part and parcel today on my 2000th blog post

Yeah, I know. Wow! I have as of this date sat down and sorta collected my thoughts mostly at this desk (there were some posts made from exotic locations like bus stations and small town libraries after I got the laptop with wi-fi capability) two thousand times. Actually a few more than that as there were some posts that never actually made it to the front page, and the separate pages (Gay Marriage, Gigi’s Story, etc.) don’t count towards the post count and some of them have been updated several times. So I posted a bit more than the official count, not that it really matters. Today is the 2000th “official” blog post since 11/23/2008, the date I started posting from this service provider. Prior to that I was posting from MySpace, but had to move because all the external links caused them to think I was a phishing site (and shortly after they shut down my blog MySpace quietly imploded, imagine that). I worked for Examiner.com for a while (and they still consider me an employee, they sent me a nice e-badge that would show on any articles I would write stating that I was a 5-year employee) based on the contents of this blog, but since I was more national and they wanted hyper local we drifted apart.

In the meantime I have been consulted by several lawyers concerning bicycle wrecks since I have been exposed to more wreck reports than just about any person on the planet. I’m still trying to decide if that part is a Good Thing or a Bad Thing. I know that combined with the brain damage it does not help me maintain my grasp of sanity, but I have learned a lot from reading those thousands of reports on what happened to people. I have developed an instinctual feel for approximate speed and direction of impact on a bike from looking at the end results since mostly the bike gets hit once and then bounces away from the wreck, and my bullshit detector gets a frequent workout when physical impossibilities are entered as fact. And there is the vanishingly rare case where the perp driver of the weapon vehicle is going so fast that the corpse of his (invariably the driver in these cases is male) victim comes through the windshield and kills or seriously injures the driver. I can recall about 3 of those world-wide since I started this blog on MySpace…

But getting back to the headline, how does this blog connect to the Ride of Silence? Well every year they remember those killed or injured while riding their bikes, and every day I remember those killed or injured while riding their bikes. Every year they say they hope this will be the last time they need to do the Ride, and every day I hope that this will be the last time I need to post about wrecks and bad infrastructure and I can just start posting cat videos, or links to bands I like, or pictures of the bikes I could build if I had the time and the money to buy materials. I mean seriously, I have been redesigning the same three bikes since 2010 for building into “show” bikes. But the RoS, and I are both devoted to the ideal of a world where regardless of your mode of transportation, you can get from A to B safely and calmly, with your life and all your limbs intact and attached. Until that day my work is unfinished and I fear I will go to my grave with work yet to do.

Up first today in this truncated list (I waited as late as I could yesterday so that I wouldn’t have many links today) is this from KY. Bicyclist Injured When Hit By Vehicle Weapon vehicle went off the road, left unstated was where the cyclist was riding. Hit-from-behind wreck but the weapon vehicle going off the road moots almost all of the protocols for avoiding or reducing damages. Unravelled routing or barrier protection would be the only way that infrastructure could prevent a similar wreck.

A low-information report from the Great White North. Cyclist dies after collision with pickup truck in Mirabel One witness dead and the only other witness is too traumatized to talk to LEO, I guess they’ll have to examine the evidence to determine what happened. Or they could just ignore it…

Moving halfway around the world to Enn Zed we get another seriously injured cyclist unable to talk to LEO. Cyclist injured at intersection Other than it was an intersection wreck LEO have not released any information about the mode of the wreck. Thus I have no information about avoiding the wreck or if changing the infrastructure could have prevented the wreck.

Our Daily Ted is pretty good today. Morning Links: New Santa Clarita bike safety campaign; Beverly Hills official calls you an organ donor wannabe Ted, if you live long enough you will have any number of conditions that merit their own bike ride, just be glad you have that kind of support.

This video from DC shows a driver trying to intimidate a cyclist on a marked bike route. TRIGGER WARNING! Motorist Road Rage on DC Bicycle Route

This is so rare that I thought it deserved setting it apart from the “normal” links we get from FL. Bicycle Safety: Care For Cyclists Egads, someone in the media in FL that actually cares if cyclists live or die and prefers we live! Be still my beating heart…

And at least one country is so serious about what cycling can do in a positive way for their country, they are willing to handhold new cyclists until they are confident in their journeys. Sweden Is So Serious About Reducing Pollution, It’s Giving People Bike Coaches

Standard smart e-bike not distinctive enough for you? Try one of these. SMART EBIKE – ORANGE EDITION, COMFORT EDITION AND BLACK EDITION

And a little Krautrock to lighten your day. Kraftwerk Autobahn full I use the term “little” ironically in this link, this is the full 22 minute version of the piece. Get comfy first because this is a trip of a piece of music.

Billed @€0.02, Opus

Leave a Reply

