Running late on purpose, and the Feed

I’m trying to get a many link as possible cleared out today so I have less work to do on Monday. Hence the delay to get as many links from the Feed as possible before taking Saturday off. And speaking of Saturday, I have some good news. I had a gig last year that they were supposed to pay me on the sale of the project when completed, and the check came in yesterday. I had completely forgotten I had even done the gig. So I have a bit of fundage that can be used for frivolous things First thing I did was go to the nail spa and get my toes done before I ruined any pairs of socks. I can’t get the last three toes on my left foot because of the nerve damage and the scar tissue in the muscle. I bend over and those toes can’t pull up enough to get a clear shot at cutting the nails. I can fudge around the problem by placing a book or piece of lumber under my foot so the toes hang off and if I get the right piece of lumber or book I have enough room to cut the nails. This requires over an hour to do the foot and can be quite exhausting. Or I can go to the nail spa and get a pedi and for $25 I get my toes done, calluses buffed off, cuticles trimmed back (really saves on snagged and ruined socks), a massage, and a mini peel, and be back home faster than it would take to do both feet myself and just cut the nails.

The other thing I’m doing is attending A-Kon 25 for Saturday. Somewhere I have a badge that says I survived A-Kon 7, the one with the blackout and the nearby tornadoes (one was less than a mile from the convention hotel). And I still have stock in the closet from the Urusei Yatsura videos we didn’t sell. Anyone want topless teenage alien demons on VHS? 😉 I have the first 60 episodes on 12 cassettes.

Up first is a SWCC in San Antonio. Cyclist critically injured after hitting SUV One thing I almost always ask, did anyone not in the weapon vehicle see the cyclist run the light? Because looking at the wreckage of the bike and the Google Maps of the scene, umm yeah he probably ran the light. Intersection protocols to avoid, and get the infrastructure “up to Dutch” to prevent.

A wreck in VA involves an uninjured cyclist. Two injured in crash with Va. Beach school bus Multi-vehicle wreck triggered when the lead vehicle had to brake short to keep from running over a cyclist from behind on a road with no bike infrastructure. Then the rest of the wreck is compounded by all the people driving too close to react to the vehicle in front of them. Fortunately as related earlier the cyclist was unharmed. There’s a nice Google Maps app on the article that lets you zoom in on the wreck scene (taken prior to the wreck unfortunately) and you can see quite easily that a cyclist would have had to make a tricky move to the left to avoid the right turn lane at that intersection. This motor vehicle wreck could have been avoided had the infrastructure been “up to Dutch”, preventing the cyclist maneuver that triggered the wreck. All of the other bad driving would not have amounted to anything without the bad infrastructure.

Another VA cyclist was not so lucky. Cyclist down in hit-and-run Buzz job gone horribly bad, hit-from-behind protocols to avoid or reduce damages, and get the infrastructure “up to Dutch” to prevent. And I can’t imagine what the witnesses went through. According to the comments the driver has done this before.

Moving to Enn Zed we get another cyclist hit. Teen cyclist critically injured in Hastings crash Nothing on the mode of the wreck but other bits in the narrative indicate it was a mid-block hit-from-behind. And apparently caused by the cyclist not wearing a magic foam hat that repels motor vehicles from hitting cyclists.

I’m not sure what to make of this report from Oz. Rodney Clavell’s ex-girlfriend Samantha Farrer denies killing cyclist near Victor Harbor If I’m reading this right her ex went on a shooting rampage in the Sydney CBD this week. What that has to do with the GF running over a cyclist from behind I have no idea. The only thing I can gather is she has a history of displaying bad judgement in many things.

One of those reports that straddles the boundary between wreck and infrastructure. And makes me sad. There Have Now Been 100 Traffic Fatalities In NYC In 2014 And the numbers keep on growing. the counter on the article went up by one as I was filtering other links…

LifeStyle from WA. Candlelight vigil for 15-year-old Spokane boy on bicycle killed by sheriff’s deputy’s car Sorry to see the kid killed.

A few states to the east sees a similar vigil. Casper cyclists ride to remember Matthew Harker

The good kind of lifestyle article… Wounded Rider Program gives first crash kit to cyclist I think this is a great idea, and other cities should emulate it. It gets cyclists back on their feet faster to know that someone has their figurative back while they recover.

And the Windy City normalizes city laws and state laws allowing e-assist bikes in the bike lanes and bike paths. Electric bikes could zoom through bike lanes Some inflammatory language used (“zoom” through bike lanes, etc).

Some silly Infrastructure. Just look at these banana safety-cones If you see a line of these on the road be very carefull about making sudden stops or sharp turns.

Our daily Ted. Morning Links: Vote for bikeways in South OC, how to deal with road rage, and punched out for not running a red I have been yelled at many times for stopping at stop signs, but never any physical violence.

And those were all the links that even remotely fit in with the blog today. I hope you got some giggles to go with your fits.

Billed @€0.02, Opus

Leave a Reply

