Yesterday was fun and painful, what happened on a Wreck-Free Sunday

Yesterday I went to Zeus Comics to see Danielle Corsetto and Randy Milholland one man shows of Girls With Slingshots and Something*Positive as part of Danielle’s Slingshots Across America Tour.

The trip there was only slightly eventful as the stop I was supposed to get off at was announced as we passed the stop on the bus, but the driver was kind and let me out across the corner from the stop and actually saved me a few steps having to cross the street to get to the corner closest to the store. I got there right as the festivities were just getting started and got a free sketch from Randy of one of the kids in the comic, Davan’s son Rory. I spoke with him about the time he spoke at the church I go to and sometimes do the service for and what has been going on since he spoke. We went through a series of web comic artists speaking at the church once or twice a year for about 4 years, but we haven’t done that in a long time. I had a nice conversation with Danielle about marriage equality and the The Gay Marriage Challenge page on this blog. BTW I’m still waiting for someone to make a stab at convincing me that same-sex marriage will do anything to damage “traditional” marriage.

While I was there I was waiting for another local artist to show so I could talk to him about how much I liked his comic, Dave Barrack who writes and draws the first comic I check on Mondays and Thursdays, Grrl Power. I had to wait my turn though as the writer for Giant Girl Adventures was ahead of me in line and got to him first. Sabrina Pandora also writes for TV and the movies, but doesn’t get many chances to do so.

So that was 4 artists/writers that I managed to get names for, but there was another artist in the line I didn’t catch her name or comic she drew. Sorry, I should have been paying better attention when you were talking instead of trying to find Dave in the crowd. And before someone says anything, the DFW area is a hotbed for webcomics, there were several other artists that didn’t make it to the event because they have actual lives or they do comics as a sideline. People like Thomas Overbeck and Joel Watson the guy that does HijiNKS ENSUE. And I know there are others here I don’t know about like the young lady ahead of me in the line who I didn’t think to write down her name. I could name some more, but as I’m not a name-dropper by nature I won’t spend the rest of the time I have to do the post looking up my friends list on Facebook and linking the local web comics.

While I was doing the opening paragraphs I was watching the Sprint Cup race from Pocono where Junior was the winner, then the Indy Car race from Mid-Ohio that Scott Dixon won. So lots of good racing today, and the Indy Lights race is on after the completion of the Indy Car race, and there is an NHRA drag race coming on after the Indy Lights race (on a different channel). Woo! fun.

Mrs. the Poet has been making one of my favorite dishes she makes, roasted vegetables, and the smell has been wafting through the house. She chopped up a couple cloves of garlic this time, which means extra-yummy veggies…

I had a very strange dream yesterday. It was a very civilized version of the Zombie Apocalypse, there were the usual zombies wandering around attacking people but somehow most things managed to stay pretty much the same except with a lot higher levels of security and a lot less fossil fuels. I was driving a converted stretch limo that was solar electric powered, most of the commerce was solar powered but the semi-trailers just had so much roof space it gave them an advantage in cross-country travel. Speed was much lower than what we have now, my limo had a cruise speed of 30 MPH, and a sprint of 70 or so with the best range at 30 (the sweet spot for the motor and controller, I think) of 40 miles after sundown. BTW everybody could travel freely from sunrise to sunset, whatever was causing the zombies made them extremely photosensitive to the point that more than a few seconds exposure caused death, so the big thing was making sure that you found shelter before sunset and only in places where there were people gathering before sunset so you didn’t accidentally get caught in a zombie day shelter. Funny thing is I don’t remember much about the actual things I did in the dream, I was so busy making mental notes about the setting. There was the abandoned drive-in theater where I found the zombie shelter in the concession stand, and the motel with the barbed wire fence and guard towers on the roof, but other than those I don’t remember much about the dream. But as you can tell, there was a lot of detail in the “little things” in the dream.

And I think that is enough writing for today, suffice it to say my weekend was pretty awesome, aside from the pain of standing around at Zeus Comics waiting to talk to people. My wrecked leg does NOT like it when I spend too much time standing around.

PSA, Opus

Leave a Reply

