It took a long time to get in “Writing Head Space” and the Feed

You know how things get sometimes? When you are the only one who has to work and everyone else has the day off and wants to play? That was my situation this morning as I was trying to get my head into that metaphorical “space” where I can write. My daughter is visiting from Scotland, and had not made her appearance at Casa de El Poeta yet. But that did not prevent Mrs. the Poet from intruding on my preparations for composing this post pretty much constantly. I understand her point that I need to interact with my family, but I have to work, too. Especially after yesterday’s sloth-fest of more than 18 hours of uninterrupted TV motorsports, if I don’t get back to writing right away I will get lazy and just stop doing the blog. Then one more anchor I used to maintain my sanity will be down the tubes, or more precisely untied and abandoned. And I kinda like having this particular level of sanity, being attached to the “real” world and doing what I can to make a difference. I think this is just sane enough, and at the same time just crazy enough to think I can actually make a difference. I’m in the “sanity sweet spot” here.

The Big Story today is a driver charged with murder in the death of a cyclist in KY. Police: Driver charged with murder after hitting, killing bicyclist and Cyclist killed after being hit by vehicle also Authorities say Kentucky man killed after being hit by vehicle during cycling event and even Cyclist killed after being hit by vehicle and this Bicyclist hit by drunk driver during race, dies this also Cyclists remember man hit and killed during Georgetown’s Horsey Hundred I’m wondering if the driver in this case might have said to the LEO that stopped him or posted something publicly to the effect that he was going to deliberately run into a cyclist or group of cyclists. If either is true given the speed he was charged I would say that he probably admitted he was targeting the cyclists to the LEO that stopped him.

This CA woman still can’t bear to see where her husband and partner died. She can’t visit the ghost bike, not yet I understand this. I still have a problem with driving or riding past the site of my wreck, and that was 14 years ago. I can do it, I just would rather not. And her husband’s death was a heck of a lot more recent than 14 years.

Update on a cyclist injured in Portland. Schwinn, nurse help injured cyclist to get back This was the cyclist who lost a leg in a left-cross wreck a few weeks ago.

From NYC a child is severely injured going to get ice cream because “FU, Cars are more important”… 7-Yr-Old Getting Ice Cream Struck By Hit-And-Run Driver In The Bronx I mean seriously, you stopped and then you ran the kid over again? You deserve to spend the rest of your days listening to kids crying on an endless loop. Over and over again with no relief. I can see giving the driver some leeway if she had just stayed at the scene and helped with the first aid, but running the victim over a second time? Foxtrot Uniform Charlie Kilo Yankee Oscar Uniform with barbed wire.

I keep telling these people there is a simple way to do this, and the technical parameters are available for €90 translated to English. Greensboro officials, cyclists seek safer roads (VIDEO) Seriously dudes, the CROW manual is like 40 years of what works and more importantly didn’t work, distilled into one volume. They didn’t stop motor vehicles so much as tamed them and put them at lower priority.

This is one of the reasons I keep writing about sidewalks not being bicycle infrastructure even when designated as such. Pavement cyclist faces charges and media backlash after hitting toddler in incident caught on CCTV I also agree with the comment about now will we hear the same thing about people driving on the sidewalks? Because since this cyclist hit the little girl and skinned her face slightly 2 people were killed by someone driving on the “pavements”.

And something for your irony-poor blood. Cambridgeshire schoolgirl injured in crash during cycle route protest The kid was injured by a cyclist while protesting the non-existence of non-existent bicycle infrastructure…

Fund raising ride for a wounded soldier ride. Portman to bike in ‘Honor Ride’

And I’m not real sure of the point of this ride in Canada. Injured Workers Kick-Off 600 km Bike Ride in Ottawa to Draw Attention to a Compensation System Being Dismantled by the Liberal Government and Bike-riding injured workers to make stop in Cornwall Are they trying to say that the system that the government is trying to destroy allowed them to recover from their injuries to the point that riding 600 km is only slightly harder than it would have been before they got injured? Because I can see someone saying that if they can ride 600 km they must not be too injured and should not have gotten benefits.

And I think I have run out of links for today. Yep, nothing left in the other window.

Billed @€0.02, Opus the Poet

Leave a Reply

