Happy Beltain, and it’s National Bicycle Month

Today is the official start of National Bicycle Month. If there was ever an excuse to get out and ride your bike, this is about the best one you can get. Here in the Beautiful Suburbs of Hell we had temps in the low 70s F and light breezes, which would have been perfect for a ride if I could see where I was riding. But there is a light at the end of the tunnel, almost a year after having “Chris Christie” removed from my neck (that’s the name I gave the lipoma (literally “fat tumor”) that was removed from my neck the day before the Ride of Silence) I can tilt my head far enough back to be able to see forward when I sit on a bike, again. I still can’t do it long enough to go around the block without collapsing from pain and exhaustion, but I got a lot further around the block this time.

Also yesterday was Beltain, the celebration of Spring or as it is known in the Druidic calendar the first day of Summer. They weren’t real big on lots of seasons, all they had was Food (Summer) and Hunger (Winter). There’s a bit of bawdy verse that goes with the day. “Hurray, hurray the first of May! Outdoor (sexual intercourse) begins today!” Well if you don’t mind getting a little chilly (and probably wet) you probably could engage in that activity around this time in England, but we have been having weather warm enough for that activity for well over a month now, here in TX.

Go ride a bike to someplace where you can indulge in outdoor loving if that’s your inclination.

Billed @$0.02, Opus

Leave a Reply

