I had money so I bought some stuff

I had some money from my tax return so I bought some mid-Bucket parts for the front end. I went from known dimensions out back and how much the hubs added to the overall width of the front end and bought a front axle that spaces the wheel mounting surface just a tad further out than the rear.

Speaking of money, my first check from the secret shopper gig came this morning. The instructions were to cash the check, buy something up to $50 at the store (NDA on which store), keep $300 for myself and send $1300 to some dude in Houston. Supposedly there are some problems sending large amounts through Money Gram at this location. When I checked the delivery addy it did not exist, so I also checked the return addy on the envelope with the check and it didn’t exist either. The check looks real, at least the paper portion of the check is real, but I have no way to verify if the account is valid or not. The only thing I can do at this point is deposit the check and see if it clears.

Moving on to the other part of my day I repaired a cook stove for some people going camping next week. This was my first opportunity to fire up my flux core wire feed welder and give it a test at max thickness capacity. I had to do some finagling to get the part to stick together, but banging on it with a hammer did not dislodge the bits so I’m calling it done but not pretty.

This gig was good, solid practice for welding the frame and de Dion truss on the Mid-Bucket, and it gives me some hope on doing that project right.

And the guy that sets the alarm clocks to wake up chickens just left for work, so I should go to bed now.

4 responses to “I had money so I bought some stuff

  1. DANGER DANGER DANGER

    That check sounds like a scam. If you cash it, hold for at least two weeks to see if it really clears. Especially if it’s a cashier’s check. Your bank may tell you it cleared, give you the cash, and then come back weeks later with “ooops, nope, it didn’t really clear.” You are on the hook for this, not your bank or the nonexistent bank the check is drawn against.

    Like

  2. Opus the Poet

    I had the bank check the check to see if it was good. It was good, a good fake that would not have been caught until they tried to run it through the physical system except I had them test it first.

    Like

  3. Phew. I’m glad you didn’t get bamboozled.

    Like

Leave a Reply

