My sleep got messed up and I faceplanted into the keyboard 3 times trying to write this headline

Usually I sleep pretty soundly, but something was making noises like someone trying to break into the house shortly after sunrise this morning and I couldn’t get back to sleep. I spent most of the day running around taking care of banking, buying cat food, and paying the phone bill. With temperatures in the mid-90s and “feels like” temps in the low 100s I was dehydrated again, and between dehydration and exhaustion I have been bouncing my face off the keyboard. I’m going to take a nap and come back to finish the post.

OK it’s 4 hours later and I’m feeling better, not great but better.

As you might imagine I got no work done on any projects what with all the time spent running around. That’s OK I can’t do everything. I did find some information about lightweight OE replacement spindles that I could use for an IFS. There’s the MII/Pinto spindle that comes in at 17.8 pounds per pair or 8.9 each, and there is a forged aluminum ’60s GM F-body spindle that weighs “half of stock”. And there is also the late ’60s VW balljoint spindle that is also slightly lighter than the MII/Pinto spindle, but is tricky to find outside of eBay and even trickier to find big brake kits for. The biggest brakes I have found for this spindle top out at 11″ diameter. Another lightweight candidate is the Wilwood MII modular replacement spindle at 9 pounds each but massively strong and the steering arms can be replaced for more lock/quicker steering/bump steer correction.

And now I’m hot and sleepy again, so let’s end this and park my butt in front of some AC and get more sleep.

Leave a Reply

