Why does a str8 cis male fight for LGBT rights? on Wreck-Free Sunday

In my IRL world I spend a lot of time helping with equal rights events for HRC and other LGBT organizations. I have been asked several times why I do this, and until recently I have answered with the simple “Because it’s the right thing to do.” But that is an incomplete answer. And until now I really did not have the words to explain why I did what I did.

But now I do.

I know what it’s like to have someone try to kill you for just being who you are.

I think everyone remembers my Death Day post from 8/31 where I related how I got killed (for about 2 minutes). Well that guy tried to kill me because I had the gall to ride a bicycle on the same street he was driving on, he even screamed as much at me as he was trying to kill me.

And the same thing happens to LGBT people. Assholes try to kill them just because they exist. And the assholes can’t stand that.

So, I do what I can to prevent that from happening.

Because it’s the right thing to do.

Because I know what it feels like.

Because nobody should be forced to live like that.

PSA, Opus the Poet

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.