“Chris Christie” is becoming a real pain in the neck, and the Feed

There, I said it. This lump of useless fat sitting on my neck has literally become a pain in the neck. I can’t wait until the surgeon cuts me open and peels that thing off my neck, because it has reached the point that the lump is restricting my range of motion to the point that I get a pain every time I try to turn my head in any direction. It feels like the bottom of my skull is hitting the lump but it is probably the muscles not being able to get out of the way because the lump is already there, although when I check with my finger the finger gets caught between the lump and my skull, so a little of both, maybe? Anyway, I want this useless lump of ugly fat gone from my neck and my life. In this picture I leaned as far forward as I could so “Chris” would be more visible.

Up first because this is THE major issue of riding a bike in the Beautiful Suburbs of Hell, an observation from WoaB hero Bikeyface. FOR LACK OF A RACK That’s right bike parking. There are nearly no bike racks in Garland except for a few near the square, and a couple tucked behind buildings at our “mall” that isn’t a mall.

Our Daily Ted. Morning Links: Injured SD cyclist needs your help, CA keeps dopers on the road, and Winnipeg ups the ante on ciclovías Good links in that one.

What is a sports icon to do when he can no longer play his sport? BARRY BONDS IS SHIFTING GEARS

I have long suspected that what is depicted here was exactly the case. Bicyclists Belong in the Traffic Lane

I feel like quoting “Patton” (the movie) when I read this. Jobst Brandt, cyclist, inventor, author and industry influencer, dies at 80 You know the quote I’m talking about, right?

Update on the cyclist killed by a driver on the wrong side of the road in GA. Funeral Scheduled For Thursday To Honor Cyclist Who Died Following Accident Yes, this is the cyclist killed by Smirking Man. Smirking Man still had not made bail last time I checked.

Kids watching too much TV and not getting enough exercise? No TV unless you exercise! My version used a car alternator and an inverter running off a battery charged by the alternator, but this will work for people who have TVs that won’t come back on after the power goes off until the remote turns it back on. The trick for mine was to use a very small battery and an inverter with an adjustable low-voltage cutoff, set between the alternator output and the resting voltage of the battery. That way you always had full voltage to make the alternator work, and the TV would only work as long as you pedaled. Keep the pedals turning and you could watch TV, stop pedalling and you had to get off the bike and find the remote, find someone to turn the TV on while you pedaled, and go through the startup sequence on the bike/inverter combination.

National infrastructure news from DC. Clock ticks down on highway funding The gas tax was last raised in 1993. Clinton was POTUS at the time. In the last 10 years we have had to bail out the Transportation Trust Fund 5 times that I remember… Because the gas tax does not pay enough for new construction, and don’t get me started on maintenance. This has a direct impact on the funds needed to pay for things like bicycle infrastructure that would not be needed if there were no cars or heavy trucks clogging the streets and roads.

A cyclist documents the hazards of a busy street to NYPD, NYPD responds by blocking the cyclist from being able to tell them about people parking in the bike lane or making illegal turns from it. Cyclists Demand A Safer Jay Street, NYPD Doesn’t Want To Hear It

A UK city begins a safety campaign that doesn’t automatically blame cyclists and demand styrofoam hats. Look Once, Look Twice … Think Cyclist and Think Bike Motorcycles are having a similar problem with blind drivers “not seeing” them, so they are part of the campaign as well.

The recent deaths in Thailand have gotten the attention of the media and government. How to make our roads safe for cyclists and Thai editorial: How to make our roads safe for cyclists also Cyclists need more support

Another Lifestyle article from FL. Tallahassee Officers to Bike Hundreds of Miles to Honor Those Killed in the Line of Duty

And I’m out of links again.

Billed @€0.02, Opus the Poet

One response to ““Chris Christie” is becoming a real pain in the neck, and the Feed

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.