Daily Archives: October 9, 2014

There’s an elephant sitting on my foot, and the Feed

This has been a very bad week for my nerve pain on my injured leg. Pain has been mostly pressure/crushing in nature with varying degrees of intensity ranging from “shoe too tight” while barefoot to “elephant swing dancing on my arch”. What makes this harder to deal with is most days I either don’t have or barely notice nerve pain, and the fact that there is currently no medication that will deal with the nerve pain without knocking me out as well. In fact I think the “side effect” is the only effect, it doesn’t so much treat the pain as render me unconscious so I don’t experience pain. The only time I take that particular medication is when my quality of life has gotten so bad that unconscious becomes preferable to otherwise and I’m not in the mood for suicide. At this point I’m not suicidal over the pain, I can “put up” with a lot. And when I can’t “put up” with it I have the knockout pills to use until whatever it is that’s causing the pain changes so I can “put up” with the pain.

Speaking of long-term effects from getting hit by a motor vehicle, we have an update on a wreck a few hours ride east of WoaB World HQ in the Beautiful Suburbs of Hell. Injured cyclist released from rehab facility Wishing this fellow cyclist a speedy and relatively pain-free recovery, and hoping for no long-term problems down the road.

Further update on a CO right hook. Boulder agrees to pay injured cyclist $30,000 I think they just got off super cheap if this was for actual damages.

Citizens in WY are upset about the lack of media coverage of serious and deadly bicycle wrecks compared to a cop shooting a dog. McCurdy: Cyclist deaths getting swept under the rug

Our Daily Ted. Morning Links: Sign up online for BAC agendas and minutes, and LAPD cracks down on USC cyclists

Infrastructure! news from Jolly Olde. Cyclists blame lack of cycle route into central London on Kensington and Chelsea Council

And instead of actual, usable infrastructure they get this… A Proposed Floating Cycleway on the Thames Is Hilarious—and Insulting Not even a bridge but a floating “road” that would be nearly impossible to ride on and you have to pay a toll for the privilege? I want the drugs they’re getting…

A bit of Lifestyle from CA. San Jose Police Bike Patrol take the lane Not just take the lane, but have a blocking vehicle behind and corkers at intersections (look to the right of the column of cyclists near the top of the first picture).

And those were all the links that were pertinent to the blog today.

Billed @€0.02, Opus the unkillable badass Poet